Transcription

TranscriptionTranscription by Kate Atkinson
on September 25th 2018
Pages: 352
ISBN: 031617663X
Buy on Amazon
three-stars

Juliet Armstrong is only eighteen years old when she is recruited by the M15 in 1940. She is tasked with transcribing the conversations of British fascists sympathizers during WWII. Before long, she is given more duties such as working as a spy herself and watching a dog which is being held for a sort of ransom. Ten years later she finds herself working for the BBC as a radio producer. She appears to have moved on with her life until those from her past come back, reminding her that one can never get away, and there are spies who spy on the spies, and that past crimes can and will haunt you. The plot shifts around mainly between the 1040’s and 1950’s with brief time spent in the 1980’s

The plot shifts around mainly between the 1040’s and 1950’s with brief time spent in the 1980’s. Juliet begins the book as a young woman mourning the loss of her Mother while attending school to learn a trade. She is recruited right out of the school and passes the initial test and is thrown into the world of espionage. “You’ve come a long way, baby” comes to mind. This is a slower moving book and one needs to really pay attention to detail. I did struggle at times with the slowness. Initially, I really enjoyed the book and then things felt tedious, then things picked up once again. Juliet is also an interesting character. I failed to connect with her and yet I enjoyed reading her thoughts. She had a dry sense of humor and had some witty and insightful thoughts. The other characters in this book had their own sense of humor as well. I do not read a lot of espionage/spy novels and it was nice to see the humor thrown in.

As Juliet’s job is transcription, the reader gets to see the transcriptions that Juliet has made. I enjoyed this touch even though some of the conversations were mundane. I thought this was a nice way to show that a spy’s life is not always exciting and how many spy organizations gather their data. Plus, this is another way of giving the reader a glimpse into Juliet’s life, her interactions with others in the M15.

Apart from some pacing issues, I was hoping for a little more action in this book. But again, as I mentioned before, this book was dealing with transcribing data so there can’t be too much action in that and even the “fight” scene was all very proper. Atkinson’s writing is wonderful, and I thoroughly enjoyed her Author’s Note at the end. Don’t skip that!

I enjoyed this book and appreciated that Atkinson used a female protagonist *ahem* spy in this book. I just wished I connected more with Juliet. She started off as naive and got some maturity and oomph as the book progressed, but I never felt connected to her character. There are quite few characters in this book, but I found it easy to keep track of them.

Fans of Atkinson, WWII buffs, and fans of spy/espionage novels will surely enjoy this book.

Thank you to Little Brown and Company and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

three-stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *