The Family Gathering

The Family GatheringThe Family Gathering (Sullivan's Crossing #3) by Robyn Carr
Published by Mira Books on April 17th 2018
Pages: 288
ISBN: 0778330761
Buy on Amazon

The family gathering is the third book in the Sullivan’s Crossing series, but it works very well as a standalone novel. Having said that, I do recommend reading the first two books (What we find and Any Day Now) as they introduce the reader to characters that are seen in this book and provide you with their backstory. Robyn Carr builds a community in her books centered around family members; so, with each book in the series we see characters we already know and watch them interacting with the new characters.

The Family Gathering is mainly about Dakota Jones who has recently left the military and reconnecting with his family. While having a drink he sets his eyes on an attractive bartender named Sid who has an interesting back story herself. While these are the two main characters, the book also touches on the love story of Tom and Lola.

I’ll admit it, I enjoy a good romance book. I especially enjoy Robyn Carr books because she builds a community of characters who interact with each other. Her books are not only about people but also about their town, their sense of community, and their relationships with others. Her characters are well rounded and believable. I also love that she touches on heavy subjects and this book was no exception. This book touched on divorce, adoption, stalking, betrayal, marriage, starting over, and mental illness.

Thank you to Harlequin-Romance and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *