The Family Gathering

The Family GatheringThe Family Gathering (Sullivan's Crossing #3) by Robyn Carr
Published by Mira Books on April 17th 2018
Pages: 288
ISBN: 0778330761
Buy on Amazon

The family gathering is the third book in the Sullivan’s Crossing series, but it works very well as a standalone novel. Having said that, I do recommend reading the first two books (What we find and Any Day Now) as they introduce the reader to characters that are seen in this book and provide you with their backstory. Robyn Carr builds a community in her books centered around family members; so, with each book in the series we see characters we already know and watch them interacting with the new characters.

The Family Gathering is mainly about Dakota Jones who has recently left the military and reconnecting with his family. While having a drink he sets his eyes on an attractive bartender named Sid who has an interesting back story herself. While these are the two main characters, the book also touches on the love story of Tom and Lola.

I’ll admit it, I enjoy a good romance book. I especially enjoy Robyn Carr books because she builds a community of characters who interact with each other. Her books are not only about people but also about their town, their sense of community, and their relationships with others. Her characters are well rounded and believable. I also love that she touches on heavy subjects and this book was no exception. This book touched on divorce, adoption, stalking, betrayal, marriage, starting over, and mental illness.

Thank you to Harlequin-Romance and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


The Summer That Made Us

The Summer That Made UsThe Summer That Made Us by Robyn Carr
Published by Mira Books on September 5th 2017
ISBN: 0778331040
Buy on Amazon

The Summer that made us didn’t quite make it with me.

I have read most or Robyn Carr’s books and this one is my least favorite of all of them. For some reason I didn’t find myself as absorbed in the story. The premise is good. A family spent their summers at their summer home. They were happy and enjoyed each other’s company. Then one summer everything changed. A young girl tragically drowned and the summer home was boarded up for what they believed would be for good. That summer changed their lives for many reasons. Relationships became strained, distant and at times painful.

In the present day the family members are dealing with various personal issues – illness, relationship issues, family drama,etc. The family members agree to return to their summer lake home to re-connect, deal with their past and reunite in the present.

This book deals with death, illness (cancer & dementia), teenage pregnancy, adoption, love, family, forgiveness and relationships. Great themes and they usually would draw me in. I found that I just didn’t connect entirely with this book. I devoured her other books but this was was just okay at best for me. Her writing continues to be strong and she continues to write about real issues, this one just did not grab me as her other books have done. I’m actually sad about this because as I mentioned I am a Carr far – her Virgin River series being my favorite. As a whole she is a wonderful Author. I believe most will really enjoy this book by her as well. It just didn’t WOW me as her others have done. Still a fan!

I received a copy of this book from Harlequin and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Any Day Now

Any Day NowAny Day Now (Sullivan's Crossing, #2) by Robyn Carr
Published by Mira Books on April 18th 2017
Pages: 384
ISBN: 0778319911
Buy on Amazon

Received from the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Sierra Jones has come to Sullivan’s Crossing in an attempt to hide out and leave her past troubles behind her. She is given the opportunity to re-connect with her older brother, Cal and meet his wife Maggie. She is hoping to get back on her feet while maintaining her sobriety. She quickly makes friends with those in town and becomes close friends with Sully (Maggie’s father) who takes her under his wing and gives her good advice and guidance. She also meets the handsome Connie (Conrad) who is kind, brave and sensitive.

This book is the second in the Sullivan’s Crossing series but works very well as a stand alone novel. What is nice about Robyn Carr’s writing, in particular, her series is that she always brings in the characters from the previous books. The reader really gets a feel for the community and gets to see character development not only in the current book they are reading but in future books as well.

It was refreshing to see how Sierra was portrayed as brave and spunky while at the same time being vulnerable and tentative in approach to others. It was nice to see her come out of herself and begin to trust and confide in others. Until she ultimately was able to face her past with strength and integrity. I also liked how her relationship with both Sully and Conrad progressed. Sully became like a father figure to her while Conrad slowly became her love interest. I liked how both she and Conrad interacted and related to each other.

Carr’s books feel authentic and real because her characters are “real” people in the sense that they are not billionaires falling in love with poor beautiful women. Her characters are firefighters, camp owners, bar owners, hair dressers, lawyers, etc. I believe that is why so many readers love her books. She writes about what the majority of people reading them can relate to:good hard working people who have flaws, who try hard, who struggle, who get back up when knocked down and form healthy relationships with others.

Like some of her books, there is more than one romance going on in her book. I only discussed one couple as they were the main couple in this book.

This book proved to be a fast read for me. Yes, it is a romance and the ending was somewhat predictable. Doesn’t everyone find “true love” in this books. But what really worked in this book is the journey to falling in love. Carr also packs her books with various themes while makes her book more interesting and entertaining.

I always complain, in reference to romance books that: 1. They all want to get married in the end…and often the books end abruptly. I liked that she included an epilogue in this book. So many times I wish romance books would do this and Carr did.


Second Chance Pass

Second Chance PassSecond Chance Pass (Virgin River, #5) by Robyn Carr
Published by Mira Books on February 1st 2009
Pages: 389
ISBN: 0778326462
Buy on Amazon

There was a lot going on with this book. Whew…let’s see a baby was born, there was a forest fire and yes, lots of people starting their lives together. Paul has loved Vanessa since the day he first saw her, but kept his feelings hidden as his best friend was in love with her. Paul helped Vanessa cope with Matt’s death and was there for the birth of her child, still hiding his feelings for his dead friend’s widow. Vanessa begins to have feelings for Paul…This is just the beginning of the pairings in this book, many people find love and begin lives together. It did feel a little long at times perhaps due to all the people falling in love in this book but it was still a fast enjoyable read.

I like Robyn Carr books. She does romance well. She also throws in some sex to go with the romance. Steamy sex not award first time sex that can happen in real life. Her characters feel real and I really like how they show up in future books. This is a really nice touch.