The Girl With No Name (Detective Josie Quinn #2)

The Girl With No Name (Detective Josie Quinn #2)The Girl With No Name (Detective Josie Quinn, #2) by Lisa Regan
Published by Bookouture on April 19th 2018
Pages: 337
Buy on Amazon
four-half-stars

I loved “Vanishing Girls” and could not wait to get my hands on “The Girl with no Name”. The second book in the Josie Quinn series did not disappoint! I read most of the book in one day as I could not put it down! Seriously, I was hooked from page one. Reading this was like being on an emotional roller coaster ride! Josie Quinn gets put the wringer yet again in this book. I felt for Josie having to deal with all the issues in this book while still coping with the fallout of what occurred in Vanishing Girls. If you have not read, Vanishing Girls- please do- it’s fantastic. This book does work well as a standalone novel but if you go read Vanishing Girls first, you will know most of the players and his/her backstory.

Interim Chief/Detective Josie Quinn called to the home of a mother who had been badly beaten when someone kidnapped her newborn baby. Fans of the first book will know the mother and think “Oh Crap!” as I did. What more can Josie go through? Apparently, a lot more. Josie goes to her fiance Luke’s home, to find him missing, a lot of blood, and a woman fleeing the scene. The woman claims to have no memory or who she is, how she got there, why she is wearing Luke’s clothing or where the blood came from.

It soon becomes apparent that his woman is connected to the missing baby boy and Josie’s finance Luke. Who is this woman? Why is she terrified? Just what is the connection between the woman and the two-missing people? Who took the baby? Where is Luke? Who is the baby’s father and why was the baby taken? The questions keep piling up and Josie and her partner, Noah, investigate all the leads and possible suspects. While investigating the disappearances, a letter from a fertility clinic is found which makes things even more interesting and complicated.

This book has a lot of twists and turns. I love that Regan can interweave the various plots and subplots into one and bring everything together. This was a fast read for me as I could not put this book down. This book is brilliantly paced, there is never a dull moment and I had to keep turning the pages to see what would be revealed next. Fans of mystery/suspense and police procedural(s) will really enjoy this book.

I really like the character of Josie. She is a strong woman who does not let her personal feelings affect her ability to do her job. She has integrity, determination and a strong work ethic. She perseveres even when she is an emotional mess inside. She always does the right thing even if it causes her stress and/or emotional pain. She is a woman with a not so happy past. Some of her past we know about, but there is a lot that I believe will be revealed as the story progresses.

Again, this book was well written, brilliantly paces, full of suspense and had me on the edge of my seat. I have become a HUGE Lisa Regan fan! I love her books. Regan’s books are intelligent, brilliantly paced, full of actions and with characters that have depth react realistically to real life situations.

 

*Another plus of this book is that it is not gory, bloody, graphic or have an explicit scenes so most readers can read and enjoy!

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

four-half-stars

Vanishing Girls

Vanishing GirlsVanishing Girls (Detective Josie Quinn #1) by Lisa Regan
Published by Bookouture on January 17th 2018
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

5 BIG Stars!!!!

Lisa Regan is quickly becoming a Master at writing gritty mystery/thriller/police procedural books. I also like that she writes strong female characters who aren’t afraid to kick some butt! This book is gritty, but it needs to be as the plot is dealing with murder, rape, etc. Having worked in forensics for years, I tend to be very critical of portrayals criminals/serial killers/rapists, etc. …and Regan NAILS it.

Josie Quinn is a police officer on suspension and is currently having trouble having her husband sign their divorce papers. She is engaged to Luke, and trying to move on with her life while dealing with her own anxieties, the issues which caused the end of her marriage, and her concern for her Grandmother who is in a nursing home. She has a lot of on her plate, but it does not stop her from conducting her own investigation after a teenage girl, Isabelle, goes missing. Then another teenage girl has been found traumatized and mute – a girl they did not even know was missing. The name “Ramona” comes up and Josie is on the hunt against the advice of almost everyone in her life.

The more information Josie uncovers concerning the missing girls, the found mute girl and a woman who had a similar story about being taken, the more Josie keeps digging. What is concerning is that the woman who was taken, and set free, was not believed and her case was considered a hoax. This causes Josie to work even harder as she begins to wonder who can be trusted? Who is keeping secrets? What lengths would someone go to keep their secret?

There are some sections of this book that tells the story of the kidnapped girl(s). We don’t know who they are until they end, but I found that they enhanced the story and made things come together. Some may find these confusing initially, but i found them to be a nice touch and once you finish the book as I said, they make perfect sense.

This book is brilliantly paced. She had me from the very first page and I could not put this book down. Vanishing Girls has a well-thought out plot with enjoyable characters. This book has suspense, feelings of dread, a little romance, mystery, and grit. This is the first book in a new series and I believe we will see some more character development in the next book. I really liked that Josie was a strong female character even though she had her insecurities, she was courageous yet flawed. She was a very believable character.

If you have not read a Lisa Regan book before, get out there and do so. Fans of Karin Slaughter and Meg Gardiner will love Regan’s work. Heck, so will just about anybody who enjoys a good suspense/mystery/police procedural.

Thank you to Bookoutre and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

Highly Recommend!!!!!

five-stars

Losing Leah Holloway

Losing Leah HollowayLosing Leah Holloway (Claire Fletcher & Detective Parks Mystery #2) by Lisa Regan
on January 1st 1970
Pages: 379
Buy on Amazon
four-half-stars

I thought this book was fantastic. I thought it had the right amount of suspense, dread, mystery, romance, and intrigue to keep me interested and happily reading! I have read quite a few books lately where I just want to tell others to READ THIS BOOK!!! This is one of them! This book is the second in the series but it works brilliantly as a stand alone novel. I did not read the first book; although, I desperately want to do so now!!!

I was hooked from the beginning when a woman, Leah Holloway, drives a car full of children off a overpass into a river. From there the story unfolds and it is quite the story full of family secrets, abuse, murder, romance, tension, starting over, and secret lives.

Claire Fletcher and her sister, Brianna are fishing when they see the car drive off the overpass and into the river. Claire jumps into action and is able to get all of the children out of the car safely through the sunroof. What is baffling is that the driver, Leah Holloway, does not want to be saved. In fact, she tries to stop Claire from saving her and the children. Claire is haunted by Leah’s face as he describes it as being “terrorized”.

While shivering on the river bank after saving the children, Claire is reacquainted with Connor Parks, the investigator who solved Claire’s abduction case. Claire Fletcher had been kidnapped and held for 10 years by a pedophile. Claire has been home for 5 years and had a romantic relationship with Connor which ended even though both still have feelings for the other.

Connor and his partner, Jade have been working the “Soccer Mom Strangler” investigation. Women who look similar to Leah have been raped, strangled and found with bite marks on their bodies. While attempting to figure out why Leah Holloway drove her vehicle off an overpass killing 4 people in addition to herself, Connor and his partner begin to wonder what connection did Leah have to the Soccer Mom Strangler. Was there a connection?

As the story progresses, the reader is given more insight into Leah Holloway’s life. She was seen by all as the perfect Mom, with a stable marriage. She did not drink, she had a strong distaste for cheaters and had no problems at her job. Not only are we given more insight into Leah’s life but we also learn more about Claire and her abduction and the rapes and beatings she suffered over the years. This helps to fill in information on Claire’s life and why she had issues being in a relationship with Connor from the first book. This was done in a very subtle way. I learned a lot about her without having the full synopsis of the first book thrown into the mix.

A lot happens in this book and it all feels believable. I appreciated how the story of Leah was given in little snippets and how the police investigation progressed. Nothing felt rushed or dragged on in this book. There are some really good twists and turns in this book. There were also revelations that I did not see coming! I love when an Author is able to pull this off! I also love when I read a book out of sequence and it makes me want to go back and read the first in the series. That is how good this book is. I also really enjoyed the romance between Connor and Claire. I really hope there will be another book in the series. I will be first in line to read it.

If you enjoy fast paced thriller this book is for you! If you like a little romance with your mystery/thriller this book is for you! If you like a page turner this book is for you!

I highly recommend this book.

I received a copy of this book from Thomas and Mercer and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to them for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book.

four-half-stars