The Good Daughter

The Good DaughterThe Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter
Published by William Morrow on August 8th 2017
Pages: 528
ISBN: 0062430262
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

YES!!!!!!!!!!!!

When discussing Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn is quoted as saying “I’ll follow her anywhere.” What Gillian doesn’t know is that she will have to step in line behind ME!!!

Cop Town was my first Karin Slaughter book and it started my love affair with her books. I binge read her Grant County and Will Trent Series. She had me twisted up and crying in parts especially at the end of her Grant County series. I couldn’t read Pretty Girls fast enough. If she decided to re-write a phone book, I would stand in line to read it. Yes, I am gushing…but her books are KICK ASS!!! I have honestly not read a book by her and been disappointed. She is at the top of her game and I believe she is only getting warmed up. I look forward to years and years of reading her novels. Did I say she is my favorite Author? My husband actually said “I’m happy and excited for you.” when we picked up “The Good Daughter” at our local library.

Having said that, her books are not for everyone. There is violence, horrible, horrible things happen to people. This may be hard for some people to stomach. But violence is not kind, it is not sweet and it is not pretty. Violence is graphic and raw, Slaughter does her research and consults with a lot of professionals when she writes her books. She does not write her scenes to titillate but to show how gruesome crimes and attacks can be. Her scenes are realistic not gratuitous. Plus, lets not all forget that she is an awesome writer. She writes complex characters and if you have read her series you will know that she has incredible character development as those series progress. I do believe she could make quantum physics sound interesting to me. How can a woman who likes to post photos of baby animals on Facebook write such books? She is brilliant. I could wax on all day about her but I will just give you the gist of this story:

Charlotte and Samantha Quinn’s father is a defense attorney who represents some questionable people. His recent case involved a rape acquittal and the young rape victim committed suicide rather than live with what happened to her. Emotions were high and raw. Their father was not the most popular person in town. Their home was recently burned down and the family had re-located to a farm house. One evening the girls were at home with their Mother when two masked men entered the home. As the blurb goes “Two girls are forced into the woods at gunpoint. One runs for her life. One is left behind…”

Charlotte grows up to become an attorney herself and lives in the same hometown as her father. She finds herself at the scene of a school shooting and her past comes back with a vengeance. An estranged family member also comes back as well. Secrets are revealed, the “what really happened that night” is revealed. The “hows”, the “whats” and the “whys” become known to all parties. Whew!

That is it. I am not going to give any more of the story away. GET OUT THERE AND READ THIS BOOK ALREADY!!!!!!!! Then see if you don’t want to read more and more by Slaughter!

There is a reason that Karin Slaughter has such a HUGE fan base. She writes amazing books. Her writing is intelligent, thought out and well paced. There is NEVER a dull moment. She has layers to her plots. She has fantastic character development. I also like that her characters have flaws and are not always likable and may make mistakes and use poor judgement. In essence that is what makes her characters feel so real to me. She has fantastic pacing and I have literally sat at the edge of my seat reading her books.

Highly recommend!

five-stars

The Kept Woman

The Kept WomanThe Kept Woman (Will Trent, #8) by Karin Slaughter
Published by Century on July 14th 2016
Pages: 560
ISBN: 1780893574
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

Karin Slaughter slays once again! Terrible pun, I know, but true. I love Karin Slaughter books. As in I love, love, love them!!!!! I love her characters. I love that they are damaged, make bad choices, make good choices, use terrible judgement, risk all for those they love, they feel jealousy, they take chances, they screw things up, they make amends, and they feel real emotions. Plus, I love a little grit with my murder mystery. Slaughter can be counted on to being the blood, the carnage, and raw emotions that come with the territory of writing about murder, police procedures, FBI investigations, etc. . I have a background in forensics and I love the research she puts into her books. From the language, the technique, crime scene analysis, etc. She does her homework and it shows in her books.

Keep in mind that this is Number 8 in her Will Trent Series. If you have not read Karin Slaughter, what the hell is wrong with you? Seriously? Get over it already and dive in already. By dive in, I mean start with her Grant County series and when they ends, begin reading the Will Trent series. That will give you all the background you need. Some books can be read as stand alone books, some not so much. Many of her books do nicely as stand alone novels, but why read out of sequence when you can binge read Slaughter (that is what I did).

The book begins with a body being found in an abandoned warehouse and Will Trent is called into investigate and his girlfriend, Sara Linton is called in as the medical examiner. Hence begins the tale. This book weaves story-lines together and Will’s past and present collide. The usual characters are in this book. Ones we loves and ones we love to hate (Angie). Revelations come out during the investigation that threaten to harm relationships – both personal and professional.

There is a lot of drama and of course, because this is a Karin Slaughter book, there will be murder, blood, drama, mystery, and investigation. Slaughter is great with character development which is why I feel strongly about readers starting with the Grant County series and then tackling the Will Trent books. Through both series we see both Will Trent and Sara Linton grow and evolve. We also see those who are close to them grown and change as well. It is well worth the journey.

I am choosing to not tell too much about the plot. What I will say is what I have said over and over and over again. Karin Slaughter is at the top of her game. She is not slowing down and her writing is consistent, strong and captivating.

Now what to do with myself until the next Slaughter book comes out…

four-stars

Unseen

UnseenUnseen (Will Trent, #7) by Karin Slaughter
Published by Delacorte Press on July 2nd 2013
Pages: 379
ISBN: 0345539478
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

I am beginning to think that Slaughter can do no wrong when it comes to writing these gritty crime books!

Will Trent is working undercover using the identity of Bill Black. He is posing as an ex-con motorcycle rider. He has a job working at the local hospital and has also gotten a job as a lookout for a home robbery (or so he is told). Will is back in Macon, Georgia Jeffrey Tolliver’s home town.( Jeffrey from the Grant County series/ late husband of Will’s girlfriend Sara). You know form this alone things are going to get messy. Even better…he can’t or wont tell Sara where she is. He does not want her mixed into his undercover investigation.

Oh! But Wait! Lena is in this one. She is the Queen of Messy. She is married to Jeffrey’s son, Jared and they both work on the police force there. Just knowing she lives there you KNOW the shit is going to hit the fan.

And it does. The SHIT hits the fan. The home robbery is actually Lena and Jared’s home and Jared is shot which brings Sara to town. You just know this is going to be a cluster fuck. Sara blames Lena for her late husband’s death. She blames Lena for Jared being in the hospital fighting for his life.

The usual suspects are in this one. With each book, I like Faith more and more. She is a strong woman who is taking no prisoners in this book. She can hold her own and kicks some ass in this book. Amanda continues to be her own strong self. I loved that Faith sees Lena the same way that Sara does.

I am not going to give the farm away for free. You need to read this book to get the story. It will help if you read the others in the Will Trent series first. Hell, start with Grant County so you get to see Sara in a previous life so to speak. This book did not disappoint. There are secrets, angry exchanges, allegiances, twists, turns, revelations and some romance. I have said it before and I will say it again, I love how we learn more and more about Trent with each book and there is character development.

Another solid read from Slaughter

four-stars

Pretty Girls

Pretty GirlsPretty Girls by Karin Slaughter
Published by William Morrow on September 29th 2015
Pages: 688
ISBN: 0062430874
Buy on Amazon
four-half-stars

WOWZA! I thought this book was terrific. I worked for years in forensics working with serial killers, serial rapists, child molesters, etc. so I was not as “horrified” by the subject matter as some might be when they read this. Slaughter certainly did her research. I thought her deception of “bad guy” to be very realistic and spot on.

This book is gripping and I wanted to keep writing to find out what would happen next. This is a hard book to review because I do not want to give anything away that will ruin the story for anyone. I liked the dialogue of the characters they talked as “real” people talk to each other. I found that I liked most of the characters and shook my head when some did not always act in their own best interest i.e. mouthing off or being sarcastic.

Twenty years ago, Julia went missing and has not been seen since. The book shows how her disappearance affected her family. Her father never stopped searching and wrote her letters. Her mother suffered depression and drank before pulling herself up by her boot straps and tried to have a life. Claire, married Paul and lived a very affluent lifestyle, while Lydia has been sober for years after a long drug addiction. She is a single mother in a relationship with a man who is also in recovery. The book lets us know that a young girl has gone missing. Her disappearance triggers feelings in both sisters and remind them of their owns sister’s disappearance.

Clair and Lydia have been estranged for years but begin speaking again after a family tragedy brings them together. Both women need to depend on and trust each other in order to survive. There is a twist reveal that may not be too much of a shock for some people.

Not everyone will like the subject matter. Unfortunately things like this can and do happen each and every day.

four-half-stars

Blindsighted

BlindsightedBlindsighted (Grant County, #1) by Karin Slaughter
Published by HarperTorch on October 1st 2002
Pages: 418
ISBN: 0380820889
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

This was not my first book by Slaughter. I read this book after reading Cop town and Pretty Girls and now I am hooked. Slaughter has quickly become one of my favorite mystery writers. She is a gritty and intelligent writer. I love the research she puts into her books. Having a background in Forensics, I really appreciate her books and the research she puts into this.

In Blindsighted, a professor is found murdered in a restaurant. Her Murder hits very close to home to Sara, who is the town’s Pediatrician and Coroner. It is also Sara who discovers the body. The professor turns out to the twin sister of a police officer who works for Sara’s ex-husband, Jeffrey.

Will Sara’s past hold the key to solving this case? What will happen between her and her ex-husband Jeffrey?

As stated above, I love Slaughter’s attention to detail. I love the police work involved, the investigations, the forensics, even the autopsies are well done in this book. But mostly, I love the relationships between the characters. I love the love story between Sara and Jeffrey. Just enough is told to make me like them both. To get me involved in their history and continued story.

Plus, well there is a killer on the loose. Who is it. Will there be more victims? Will the police save the day?

I’ll never tell. Pick up this book and read it already!

four-stars

Kisscut

KisscutKisscut (Grant County, #2) by Karin Slaughter
Published by HarperTorch on September 30th 2003
Pages: 420
ISBN: 0060534044
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

I have a feeling that Slaughter is just getting warmed up with this series. I continue to root for Sara and Jeffery as they work towards solving yet more horrific murders.

This book begins in a skating rink and ends with a shooting that will haunt Jeffrey the entire book. Teenagers in a quarrel or is this a much bigger problem. In true Slaughter fashion, this is the beginning of a very HUGE problem that will get much worse before it gets better.

Yet again Sara is at the heart of the issue. Once again this series begins with Sara being on the scene and heavily involved in the case as a pediatrician and a coroner. I like Sara, I really like this character. She is smart, strong, and savy.

While performing an autopsy, Sara uncovers severe abuse and female mutilation. A young girl is kidnapped and even more brutal crimes are discovered. Jeffrey and his officers are off to save the case. Jeffrey I also like a lot even though he has hurt Sara, it is evident he loves her. I like their story and how they work together (and argue together) to solve the case. Lena, Lena, Lena, sometimes I like her sometimes I want to take her and shake her.

Another gritty mystery by Slaughter.

four-stars

A Faint Cold Fear

A Faint Cold FearA Faint Cold Fear (Grant County, #3) by Karin Slaughter
Published by HarperTorch on July 27th 2004
Pages: 422
ISBN: 0060534052
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

Sara and Jeffrey I love how you solve crimes together. Their character development continues to progress nicely. I love learning more about each as a person and as a couple.

An Apparent Suicide at a local college campus brings Sara to the scene but she is not alone, she has her pregnant sister in tow. What happens next is tragic. While Sara is examining the body, her sister wanders off to pee and is brutally attacked.

Lena continues to be a train wreck. She is working for the Campus and is conducting her own investigation. She continues down her path of self destruction. If you have read this series from the beginning, you know why.

I continue to root for Sara and Jeffrey while they investigate a series of “suicides” on campus. All while doing this Sara is dealing with her families grief, anger and her own self blame.

Another good one by Slaughter. I’m still hooked.

four-stars

Indelible

IndelibleIndelible (Grant County, #4) by Karin Slaughter
Published by HarperTorch on September 27th 2005
Pages: 374
ISBN: 0060567112
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

I really enjoyed the two storylines in this book. The past and the present day collide inside of the Grant County Police Station. I found this was of telling the story really worked. I loved how it told us a lot about Jeffrey’s past and his relationship with Sara. We see both characters as we have not seen them before. This gives us some insight into the man and into their early days.

Gunmen come into the Police Station and shoot an officer at point blank range. Jeffrey is shot and lays wounded on the floor for the majority of the book. Sara is with him and trying to save his life any way that she can.

Lena, damaged Lena is on the outside and trying to save the day. In this book she is forced to step up a little more an pull herself together.

I don’t want to give anything away so I will say that I like how the backstory pushed character development along and helped us to see characters in a different light.

four-stars

Faithless

FaithlessFaithless (Grant County, #5) by Karin Slaughter
Published by Dell on July 25th 2006
Pages: 549
ISBN: 0440242916
Buy on Amazon
four-stars

Jeffrey’s sins of the past come back to stir up trouble between him and Sara. AS they walk around a lake and discuss their recent lack of intimacy, Jeffrey trips on something. As it turns out that something is sadly a young women in a box that had been buried in the ground. She has not been dead for long and Sara and Jeffery quickly start investigating her murder.

This book has many twist and turns which lead them to a secluded religious group that takes in runaways and parolees to work on their farm. The dead young woman is the daughter of one of the families. A strange family that closes ranks and does not really warm up to the idea of Sara and Lean being in positions of authority.

Secrets, abuse, and a twisted killer(s) fill the pages. This book was good mystery that continued the Grant County series which I have come to enjoy.

four-stars

Undone

UndoneUndone (Will Trent, #3) by Karin Slaughter
Published by Delacorte Press on July 14th 2009
Pages: 436
ISBN: 0385341962
Buy on Amazon
five-stars

Will Trent and Sara Linton in the same book!!!!!!!! I can’t read this fast enough. I loved the Grant County series. I could not read those books fast enough and I was so sad when that series ended with a BANG. But now I’m hooked with Will Trent and What! What! What! Sara Linton is in this book? Yes, Yes, and Yes!

A young woman enters the Trauma center where Sara now works. After her husbands death, Sara has left Grant County and now works at a hospital in Atlanta. She is on duty when the naked, tortured woman is brought in for treatment. She literally shoves Will Tent out of the way in order to treat her patient. I loved this! Sara continues to be a strong female character.

Will Trent is a the hospital with his partner Faith, when the tortured young woman is brought into he Emergency Room. He inserts himself in the investigation of what happened to this woman and bringing the perpetrator to justice. He treats the tortured woman with kindness and touches her foot tenderly which catches Sara’s eye. He throws himself into the investigation and we get to see his brilliant mind at play. He continues to hide his dyslexia and fears it being found out by others. A little more is told about Will Trent. I have a feeling that with each book, a little more will be disclosed about him. Then there is his wife, Angie. I don’t like her. I don’t like her with Will. She is emotionally abusive. Why does he stay with her? Yes, they grew up in a group home together. Yes, she knows him better than anyone. But knowing someone and using their sad, horrible past as a way of hurting them does not for a healthy relationship make.

Will Trent will not be the only character we learn more about, I have a feeling we will be seeing more of Faith in upcoming books. She is at the hospital receiving care (from Sara of course) and this opens up a story line for her as well. I like her attitude. We also get a little more of Amanda (Will’s boos)in this one. Will is surrounded by strong women which makes his relationship with Angie so hard to swallow.

The investigation of the tortured woman continues while another victim is quickly found by Will. Another woman goes missing and soon it appears that they missing women are similar in certain aspects. How do they all tie together? Who is taking them? What will happen next? Where will the beginning friendship with Sara take Will?

Slaughter continues to dazzle with her character development. She continues to shine when writing carnage (is this a compliment) she does a good job giving us evil characters who do the unthinkable. She has a plot that is well thought out with twists and turns. This was a page turner for me!

Keep em coming Slaughter. I have a feeling she is just getting warmed up with this series.

five-stars