Carved in Ice

Carved in IceCarved in Ice (Made of Steel Series Book 3) by Ivy Smoak
Published by Ivy Smoak on July 12th 2018
Buy on Amazon

Carved in Ice is the final book in the Made of Steel Trilogy. If you have not read the first two books in the series (Made of Steel, Forged in Flames), I highly recommend reading them first. Don’t read this book as a stand-alone novel as there is so much information given in the previous two books. Plus, the previous two books are awesome, and the backstory and information given in the first two books is pivotal to enjoying this book. Each book builds upon the previous book and it is exciting to find out what happens next, especially when a cliffhanger is involved. Plus, you will enjoy this book even more as you will finally learn if Summer/Sadie gets the answers she is looking for. But she is not the only character in this book/series, throughout the trilogy, the reader is introduced to several characters -characters who the reader will come to care about and root for. It is enjoyable as a reader, to learn where the story takes their characters.

A brief history:

Summer was just a child when tragedy stuck and life as she knew it came to an end. She had to leave her childhood home and her best friend, MIles, to go live with her grandmother. Unfortunately, her Grandmother passed away and Summer bounced from home to home until she was “placed” with the sadistic, Don. Finally, she is given a new chance at life and moves to the city to attend college with a new name and new identity. There she sees her childhood best friend and makes several other friends as well including the vigilante “V” who pops up to save the day when there is trouble.

There will be plenty of trouble throughout all three of the books in the series. Carved in Ice shows Summer/Sadie picking up the pieces after the cliffhanger at the end of book two (Forged in Flames). In this book, Summer/Sadie and her group of friends are still trying to keep safe all the while trying to stop Don from doing further damage to her life.

As with book two, the reader does need to suspend some disbelief and just sit back and enjoy the story as it unfolds. As the conclusion of the trilogy, Summer/Sadie gets many answers to her questions as does the reader. One burning question has always been “who is V?” All I can say is I KNEW IT! But if you do not know what I am talking about, again, pick up book one and begin the series and start there. This trilogy has been full of suspense, mystery, romance, intrigue, and has a super hero type element. This book series is very riveting and binge worthy. It is easy to pick up any book in the series and finish it in one day. I was hooked from book one and wanted to know where Smoak would take her characters next. As with the previous two books in the series, there is no down time in this book. Things happen fast, and the action keeps coming.

This was a sexy fun series that also dealt with some heavy/serious issues. I enjoyed how unique this series felt. Many times, I read a book and it reminds me of other books I have read. I did not get this feeling with this book at all. It felt very original and well thought out. Again, there is a lot of action and the plot moves quickly.

I received a copy of this book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *